# **MINUTES**

#### PLACERVILLE CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING TUESDAY, MARCH 2, 2021

#### **OPEN SESSION: 5:00 PM**

#### CITY COUNCIL CHAMBERS – TOWN HALL 549 MAIN STREET, PLACERVILLE, CA 95667

# PUBLIC ADVISORY: THE CITY COUNCIL CHAMBERS WILL NOT BE OPEN TO THE PUBLIC

Consistent with Executive Orders No. N-25-20 and No. N-29-20 from the Executive Department of the State of California, the City Council Chamber will not be physically open to the public and City Council Members will be teleconferencing into the meeting via Zoom Video Communications.

#### 5:00 P.M. OPEN SESSION

# CALL TO ORDER

The Mayor called the meeting to order at 5:07 p.m.

# **<u>ROLL CALL:</u>** Virtually Present: Borelli, Neau, Saragosa, Taylor, Thomas

# ANNOUNCEMENTS TO THE PUBLIC

No announcements to the public were made.

# **ADOPTION OF AGENDA**

It was moved by Councilmember Borelli and seconded by Councilmember Neau that the City Council adopt the agenda as presented. The motion was passed by the following roll-call vote:

Borelli, Neau, Saragosa, Taylor, Thomas
None
None
None

# **DISCUSSION/ACTION ITEMS**

#### Planning Commission Interviews

The City received four applications for appointment to the Planning Commission before the final filing deadline of February 12, 2021 and each applicant met the qualification requirements of City Code Section 2-2-3.

The following qualified candidates were present: Theodore Dziuba, Michael Frenn, Nicole Gotberg, and Barbara Raines.

The interviews were conducted in a public interview process with questions posed to each candidate by the City Council. Each candidate was given sufficient time to respond to the questions.

Public comment was received from Ruth Michelson, Holden Green, Jennifer Chapman, and caller \*857.

At the conclusion of the interviews, each Councilmember emailed their vote to the City Clerk. There were two (2) terms of office to be appointed, ending March 2025. The City Manager and City Clerk tabulated the votes and reported the results of the balloting aloud to the public. The two candidates receiving the highest number of votes from at least three (3) Councilmembers were Nicole Gotberg and Michael Frenn.

The City Council voted as follows:

Councilmember Borelli:	Gotberg, Frenn
Councilmember Neau:	Gotberg, Dziuba
Councilmember Saragosa:	Gotberg, Frenn
Vice-Mayor Taylor:	Gotberg, Frenn
Mayor Thomas:	Gotberg, Dziuba

The candidates appointed by the City Council will be given the Oath of Office before the next regularly scheduled Planning Commission meeting.

# **ADJOURNMENT** @ 7:09 p.m.

The next Regular City Council meeting will be held March 9, 2021, 5:30 P.M. Closed Session; 6:00 P.M. Open Session.

Regina O'Connell City Clerk